Defending Against Charges Of Disturbing The Peace
Disturbing the peace is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $150 for the first offense; for a second offense, it is punishable by a fine up to $200, or six months in a house of correction, or both a fine and imprisonment. It is governed by Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 272 Section 53.
Disturbing the peace is defined as intentionally engaging in conduct that most people would find unreasonably disruptive such as making loud and disturbing noises; throwing objects in a populated area; threatening to fight people or actually fighting people, etc.; and in fact annoying or disturbing at least one person. It is one of the most common public order violations. However, being a common misdemeanor does not make it any less serious.
Fight Back Against These Serious Charges
There is no such thing as a minor criminal charge. If you have been charged with disturbing the peace in Massachusetts, you need a strong defense from a proven lawyer. Give us a call at 617-804-7228 to schedule a free consultation.