Defending Against Drug Possession Charges In Boston
Drug possession, commonly referred to as possession, is governed by Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 94C Section 34. A first offense is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail or a fine up to $1,000, or both. If the first offense is for possession of heroin, the punishment is up to 2 years in a house of corrections or a fine up to $1,000. Subsequent offenses are felonies that carry longer penalties.
Marijuana is trickier: Massachusetts has legalized possession and growing marijuana for personal use, but distribution without a license is still a crime. At the federal level, possession, sale and growing are still criminal, though the U.S. Attorney’s office is not pursuing cases against state-licensed cannabis businesses.
The statute defines possession as knowingly or intentionally possessing a controlled substance unless such substance was obtained directly, or through a valid prescription or order, from a practitioner while acting in the course of their professional practice.
Speak To A Proven Defense Lawyer
There is no such thing as a “minor” drug offense. If you face drug possession charges, you need a proven criminal defense lawyer from PiltserCowan Law LLC on your side. Call 617-804-7228 to schedule your free consultation.